Where is Mayagüez Puerto Rico? What County is Mayagüez in | Where is Map

Where is Mayagüez Puerto Rico? What County is Mayagüez in

Mayagüez is known as “the Sultana of the west”, originated by the alleged existence of a beautiful woman with Arab features who made everyone fall in love with her beauty. It is also known as ”the city of pure waters“, ”the cradle of Eugenio María de Hostos“, the ”city of the gypsy arm“, ”the city of the Indians“ and ”the village of mangó”. Its patron saint is Our Lady of Candelaria.

Where is Mayagüez Puerto Rico
Where is Mayagüez Puerto Rico

The municipality of Mayagüez is located on the west coast of Puerto Rico. It borders the municipality of Añasco and Las Marías to the north; with Cabo Rojo, Hormigueros and San Germán to the south; with the towns of Maricao and Las Marías to the east and with the Canal de la Mona to the west. It is part of the Coastal Valleys of the West. Its territory is mostly flat and its soils are fertile, thanks to the rains that abound during the months of May to November.

Among its peculiarities, Mayagüez is home to the Mayagüez University Campus of the University of Puerto Rico (former College of Agriculture and Mechanical Arts) and the Dr. Juan A. Rivero Zoo.

In turn, it is part of the “Porta del Sol” development plan; the latter aims to highlight the natural resources, gastronomy, branches of art and culture of the western region.

As part of its economic boom, it has the following registered trademarks that are also distinctive Mayaguezanos: Franco’s “brazo gitano”, Cedó flanes and Fido’s “sangria”. At the same time, it has proposed to continue the development of its port area.

What is Mayagüez Puerto Rico known for?
Why is Mayagüez important to Puerto Rico?
Who founded Mayaguez?
Which country is Mayaguez?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *