What Is The Capital Of Maine? | Where is Map

What Is The Capital Of Maine?

Maine is a state in the northeastern United States of America. It is bordered to the west by New Hampshire, to the Northeast by New Brunswick, to the northwest by Quebec, and to the south by The Atlantic Ocean. Maine is the 41st most populous state in the US. It has a population of 1.3 million people. Its county seat is Augusta.

What Is The Capital Of Maine?
What Is The Capital Of Maine?

Maine Overview

The inhabitants of Maine are known as Mainers or Maineiac. This state is informally referred to as “the Pine Tree State” or “Vacationland”. About 83% of the land in Maine is covered by forests, the most forested coverage of any U.S. state. There are many rivers, lakes, jagged rocks, cliffs and bays. The state is surrounded by many islands, including the Isle of Shoals.

Maine is abbreviated as ME or Me. It was admitted to the head of state in 1820. Prior to statehood, Maine was known as the District of Maine and was part of Massachusetts. The current governor and head of State of Maine is Paul LePage. The province of Maine has no official language.

Maine is divided into 16 counties including Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Somerset, York, and Waldo. These counties are also the political jurisdictions of the state of Maine. The largest country is Aroostook with an area of 6,829 square kilometers.

Augusta Overview

The state capital of Maine is Augusta. Other Maine cities include Portland, Bangor, Lewiston, and Presque. Portland is the largest city in Maine with a population of 66,881 people as of 2015. Augusta is located in Kennebec County.


Augusta is the third-smallest capital city in the U.S. by population after Montpelier, Vermont and Pierre. It has a population of 19,136 people. In the state of Maine, Augusta is the 9th largest city. Augusta was declared the capital of Maine in 1832. The capital occupies a total of 150.30 square kilometers. This consists of 142.79 square kilometers of land while 7.51 square kilometers is water.

The population of Augusta as of 2015 was 19,136 people. It is the easternmost capital of the US.

Climate of Augusta

Augusta’s climate is classified as humid continental. It consists of Wet, Hot and humid summers while winters are cold and snowy. July is the warmest month with temperatures above 26 degrees Celsius. January is the coldest month with an average low temperature of -12.2 degrees Celsius.

Augusta borders Windsor to the east, Chelsea to the south, Hallowell to the Southeast, Manchester to the west, and Sidney and Vassalboro to the north. The state capital of Maine is the county seat of Kennebec County.

Government of Augusta

Maine’s system of government consists of a mayor and the city council. The city council is responsible for all legislative functions of the city. There is also a city manager who is the purchasing agent of the city. The mayor of Maine is Davis Rollins. The capital has its own flag and seal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *