What Continent Is Spain? | Where is Map

What Continent Is Spain?

Spain is a country in southwestern Europe. The country is part of the Iberian Peninsula of Europe and shares it with Portugal, Andorra and part of France. Spain also consists of two large archipelagos, The Canary Islands, the Balearic Islands, several small islands in the Alboran Sea, as well as Melilla and Ceuta, autonomous cities in mainland Africa.

Spain is an intercontinental country, as it borders Morocco in Africa, making it the only country in continental Europe to share a border with an African country. The country covers an area of about 195,360 square miles, fourth place in size among European countries, and had a population of about 46.56 million in 2016. Madrid is the capital and largest city of the country. Spain is a constitutional monarchy led by King Felipe VI. Spain has been categorized as a Latin country, with Roman traditions having been highly influential in the country’s culture.

International membership

Spain is a member of the European Union (EU), Council of Europe (CoE), United Nations (UN), World Trade Organization (WTO), Organization for security and cooperation in Europe ( OSCE), North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), Schengen area, as well as several other organizations. Although Spain is not a member of the G20, it has a standing invitation to annual G20 summits. Spanish is the official language throughout the country, although there are multiple co-official languages that vary by region: Basque, Galician, Catalan and Valencian.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *