The Smallest Countries In North America | Where is Map

The Smallest Countries In North America

North America is located entirely in the northern hemisphere and is bordered by the Arctic Ocean, The Atlantic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, the Caribbean Sea, and the continent of South America. The continents of North America and South America make up the two subcontinents of the Americas. North America has a total area of 9.4 million square miles, accounting for 4.8% of the total earth’s surface. It is the third largest continent after Asia and Africa. The continent is divided into 23 countries and several other dependent territories. Here is a brief overview of the smallest countries in North America.

The Smallest Countries In North America
The Smallest Countries In North America

The seven smallest countries in North America

The following countries have a total area of less than 1,000 square kilometers.

Saint Kitts and Nevis

At just 261 square kilometers, Saint Kitts and Nevis is the smallest country in North America. It is also the least cloudy country in North America with a population of 54,800 people. The island country is located on the Leeward Islands and consists of two islands, Saint Kitts and Nevis, separated by a 3km wide shallow channel. Basseterre, the capital, is located on the island of Saint Kitts.


Grenada, the second smallest country on the continent, covers an area of 344 square kilometers and has about 107,000 inhabitants. It is located in the southeastern Caribbean Sea and consists of the island of Grenada and six other islands. St. George’s is the capital of Grenada.

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

The third smallest country is Saint Vincent and the Grenadines with a total area of 389 square kilometers. The territory consists of the island of Saint Vincent and two-thirds of the Grenadines and has a population of 110,000 people.


Barbados covers an area of 432 square kilometers and is located in the Caribbean, about 168 kilometers east of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. It has a population of 285,000 people, mainly the Kilinagos.

Antigua and Barbuda

Barbados is slightly smaller than Antigua and Barbuda, with a total area of 442 square kilometers. The territory of Antigua and Barbuda consists of two main islands; Antigua and Barbuda, and several other islands such as Long, York and Great Bird among other islands, and is home to over 100,000 people.

Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia is an island country located on the border of the eastern Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. With an area of 539 square kilometers, it is the sixth smallest country in North America. Saint Lucia has about 178,000 inhabitants.


With an area of 751 square kilometers, Dominica completes the list of countries in North America with a total area of less than 1,000 square kilometers.

Did you know that?

Most of the smallest countries of North America are composed of the islands in the Caribbean. The countries consist of one or more Islands. About 80% of the continent of North America is occupied by two countries; Canada and the United States. All North American countries except Mexico, Denmark, Canada and the US have an area of less than 150,000 square kilometers. The population of the smallest North American countries is almost proportional to their areas.

1 Saint Kitts in Nevis 261
2 grenada 344
3 Saint Vincent in de Grenadines 389
4 Barbados 430
5 Antigua in Barbuda 442
6 Saint Lucia 539
7 Dominica 751
8 Trinidad and Tobago 5,130
9 Jamaica 10,991
10 From Bahama’s 13,943
11 El Salvador 21,041

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *