How Many Countries Are There In South America | Where is Map

How Many Countries Are There In South America

South America is the fourth largest continent in the world, covering an area of 6.89 million square miles. The continent consists of 12 sovereign countries: Colombia, Bolivia, Argentina, Chile, Peru, Uruguay, Brazil, Paraguay, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname and Ecuador.

How Many Countries Are There In South America
How Many Countries Are There In South America

Area of South America

Brazil is the largest country in South America, with an area of 3.288 million square miles, which is about half of the continent’s total land area. Brazil’s coastline stretches for 4,655 miles, the longest coastline in South America. Argentina is the second largest country in South America, covering an area of 1.073 million square miles. Argentina’s coastline stretches for 3,180 miles along the Atlantic Ocean. The third largest country in South America is Peru, with an area of 496,225 square miles. Suriname is the smallest South American country, covering an area of 64,000 square miles.

Geography of South America

Santa Catalina in Colombia is the northernmost point of South America, while Aguila island in Chile is the southernmost point of the continent. Argentina is home to the highest point on the continent. Aconcagua, in the Andes, with an elevation of 22,838, it is the highest mountain outside Asia. The province is also home to the lowest point in South America, Laguna del Carbon, with an elevation of 344 feet below sea level. Venezuela is home to the world’s tallest waterfall, Angel Falls, with a height of 3,212 feet, while Guyana is home to the Kaieteur Falls, the continent’s tallest single-drop waterfall. The driest hot desert in the world, the Atacama Desert, is located in Chile and covers an area of 40,541 square miles.

Population of South America

The total population of South America is estimated at 414.663 million people. Brazil has the largest population of any South American country, with a population of 204.519 million people, which corresponds to 49.36% of the continent’s total population. Colombia’s population of 48.549 million people is the second largest in South America, closely followed by Argentina, with a population of 43.132 million people. The least populous country on the continent is Suriname, with a population of 560,000 people, and it is also the least densely populated country, with a population density of 7.5 people per square mile. Ecuador has the highest population density in South America, with a population density of 152.7 people per square mile.

Economy of South America

Figures from the 2016 CIA World Factbook state that all South American countries had a combined GDP of $ 6.432 trillion. Brazil accounted for about half of the continent’s total GDP, with a GDP of $ 3.135 trillion. Argentina is the second richest country in South America, with a GDP of $ 0.879 trillion. According to the report, Guyana had the lowest GDP of the continent, with a GDP of $ 6 billion.

Dependent territories

Apart from the 12 sovereign countries, South America also consists of three dependent territories located within its maritime borders. These dependent territories include the Falkland Islands of the United Kingdom, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands of the United Kingdom, and French Guiana of France.

Hoeveel landen zijn er in Zuid-Amerika?

1 Brazilië 204,519,000
2 Colombia 48,549,000
3 Argentinië 43.132.000
4 Peru 31,153,000
5 Venezuela 30,620,000
6 Chili 18.006.000
7 Ecuador 16,279,000
8 Bolivia 10,520,000
9 Paraguay 7,003,000
10 Uruguay 3.310.000
11 Guyana 747.000
12 Suriname 560.000

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *